Downtime Abbey

Just getting around to posting a May flashback.

This past weekend flew by.  I spent Saturday with the girls while wifey did some much needed post-pregnancy wardrobe purging and replenishing.  While I originally signed up for this thinking that she’d be gone for a half day at most, somehow it turned into a 9-6 outing.  Not assigning blame here, and I know that in its own way, the wife had a long day as well, since spending money she hasn’t explicitly earned is guilt-inducing, and because trying to find flattering clothes amid a sea of form-fitting skinny-this and slim-cut that in a post pregnancy body are not what I would call the pillars of self-esteem.

I expected the day to be exhausting.  I loosely understand what a full day of primary parenting is like, even when the girls are on their best behavior.  Not that I didn’t have sympathy or empathy for the wife before, but it definitely adds some perspective.  Our day didn’t include much in the way of activity.  Thing two napped intermittently, while thing one and I shared some floor time.  Of course, that’s a very loose summary.  We also took a walk down to the park, ate some lunch at the local corner grocery burger stand, and I even got thing one down for a nap of her own.  Yes, I am patting myself on the back.  You wouldn’t think that getting the kids to nap is such an accomplishment, but it’s no easy feat let me tell you.  I couldn’t tell you with absolute certainty,  but I was exhausted by the time J got home.  Somehow the day flew by.  My guess is because I was absorbed completely with meeting the needs of two dependent children all day.

On Sunday I spent from 9:30 AM to 7:30 PM dismantling, transporting, and reassembling a giant wooden play structure for the kids.  For those of you who know me well, you’ll know that I am marginally handy.  Or, as they say, the tools do not make the man.  While I generally relish dismantling things to try and get to the source of a problem, I seldom take the same pleasure from reassembling them.  This is usually because somewhere along the line I fail or reach a point where I lose all hope and want to crawl into a dark hole and hide from the world. Growing up I participated in Boy Scouts, played with LEGOS, and occasionally used a tool to help with some kind of project around the house.  But I am hardly a carpenter or handyman.  It’s enough to fix an occasional loose doorknob, fix a leaky faucet, or unclog a garbage disposal every now and then.  But assembling a giant (read: heavy) play structure was going to require some support.

Fortunately, I had some assistance with tear down and setup.  In spite of the extra helping hands the whole thing took most of the day.  In an effort to be conscientious about time with the kids, I know that the wife spent most of her day keeping the kiddoes entertained while I toiled outside, also hard work at times.  I made sure to thank her.  Needless to say, we didn’t get around to eating dinner until close to 9 once the kids were down, and at that point we were so burnt we just made eggs and toast.

climbing wall  Roof

tear down

There’s something deeply satisfying about seeing the fruits of your labor come to bear in such a tangible way.  Maybe I didn’t  build a house, but I built something.  I’ll admit that I felt pretty badass, all things considered.  After all was said and done, there were only two extra parts left, too!  Tonight my plan is to mount and secure the ladder, climbing wall (carriage bolt was stripped), and install the slide.  I wish it weren’t crooked, but that’s the fault of our sloped backyard and not my poor craftsmanship.

Mission Accomplished

Mission Accomplished

About AmateurParent

I'm just a guy.
This entry was posted in DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

