and so it begins…

I’ve been talking about starting a blog for a while now.  In fact, pretty much ever since my wife got pregnant.

It’s about time.  My daughter is nine months old today.   This also means that my lovely wife is nine months postpartum.

Papa n Vivi

My Daughter - Mostly an Angel

So far, I’m surviving.  And I look happy and well-rested. But.

Yes.  But.

As the blog title implies, this is all one big misadventure.  I really have no idea what the hell I’m doing.  Does anyone?  Despite volumes written on the subject and generations of lore passed from father to son on the matter, (not to mention the endless supply of unsolicited parenting advice) this is all still a giant mystery.

I will do my best to record events and observations in as close to real time as possible to ensure accuracy.  Also, if I don’t write it down, I’m liable to forget.  I invite you to laugh along with (at) me as I stumble through this complicated and messy process known as fatherhood.  I’ll be sure to sprinkle in occasional doses of husbanding along with other odds and ends.  So welcome!

I will leave you with a final thought: a recent presentation I gave to toastmasters: Lessons from “Home Game”

 

About AmateurParent

I'm just a guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to and so it begins…

  1. thypolarlife says:

    Being a mom of three I am confident in saying that NO ONE really knows what the hell they are doing, but that is half the fun. The learning is the adventure. The worst of times turn out to be the best of memories and the fact that you have decided to blog it makes it that much better. Mine are now (15), (12), and (10) but I assure you that I am still learning. Great start!

  2. ChaseK8 says:

    I as well will agree that NO ONE really knows what the hell they are doing… I am as single mother of two and I honestly just wing it…..praying every step of the way that the child protection services don’t somehow discover that I have NO CLUE WTF I am doing with these poor children!! I look forward to following your adventures as a novice daddy….. 🙂 can’t wait to read and laugh along with you!

  3. squid says:

    yay! i want to hear stories about miss V!

  4. Miss Madeline says:

    I’m so glad that I inspired you! My friend emailed me the other day letting me know that he is starting one too because of me. It’s nice :). I look forward to reading all about your adventures with Jackie and Vivi. I wish that you guys weren’t so far away so I could partake in more of them but this shall do for the time being 🙂 Good luck!

  5. Brenna says:

    Looking forward to reading your thoughts!!!! What a great way to chronicle such an adventure.

  6. Dallas says:

    Dude! Vivi is SOOOOO…. cute! I hope all is well with you, Jax, and the daughter!

Leave a Reply

